» Florida Habitual Driver’s License Suspension Can Be Undone

Florida Habitual Driver’s License Suspension Can Be Undone

Lakeland, FL (Law Firm Newswire) March 1, 2013 – A habitual driver’s license (HTO) suspension may be reversed. Speak to an experienced criminal defense lawyer.

“If you’re about to have your driver’s license suspended, contact my office right away, before you attend traffic court. There are ways to avoid losing your license for five years and I can help you with that process. Or, if you are under a Florida HTO suspension, I can tell you if you qualify to get your full license back or assist you in getting a hardship driver’s license,” outlined Thomas Grajek, a Lakeland criminal defense attorney.

A habitual traffic offender is one who, over a five-year period, has garnered three or more convictions. Those convictions may include, but are not limited to: DUI, driving with a suspended license, involuntary or voluntary manslaughter in the operation of a vehicle, failure to stop and offer aid after an injury or fatal accident, and racking up 15 convictions for moving traffic offenses. “Offenses committed in another state also count towards a five-year HTO suspension,” added Grajek.

For drivers that have been arrested driving while their license is suspended for being a habitual traffic offender, they face up to five years in prison for a third degree felony. “In short, if in any five-year time frame, you get three traffic convictions, you lose your Florida driver’s license for five years,” Grajek explained.

Is it possible to undo a five-year habitual traffic offender’s license suspension? “In some instances, yes, it is,” said Grajek. “I may be able to file a motion with the court, asking them to withhold judgment on a civil case, such as driving with license suspended. That would remove the 5-year suspension and you would have full driving privileges.”

The ability of a criminal defense lawyer to undo a five year habitual traffic offender’s license suspension largely depends on what offences they have been convicted of. “Never assume you are out of luck. Call me first and we can discuss your situation,” he added.

For more information about Polk County DUI lawyer Thomas Grajek, go to http://www.flcrimedefense.com/ or call 863-688-4606.

Thomas C. Grajek
206 Easton Drive, Suite 102
Lakeland, FL 33803
Phone: 863.688.4606


View Larger Map

  • What Does the Crime of Involuntary Manslaughter Involve?
    Involuntary manslaughter can defined in several different ways, depending on the circumstances of a case. While involuntary manslaughter may, of course, be involuntary, it may also include a deliberate act. In some situations resulting in a death, the death was an accident or a caused by a careless individual. However, even in circumstances where a deliberate act caused a death, the charge of involuntary manslaughter may still apply. Involuntary manslaughter may be the end result of a failure to carry out a legal duty specifically required to protect a human life or from the commission of an illegal act that […]
  • Marijuana Possession, Use and Sale Remain Federally Illegal, Though Enforcement Is Spotty
    Each state has its own marijuana laws. If you are arrested, you need to know which laws are applicable to your case. In 2012, Washington and Colorado became the first two states to legalize, regulate and tax recreational possession of cannabis. The laws in those states permit a person 21 years of age to buy up to one ounce of the drug at authorized storefronts. These existing laws are close cousins to laws regulating the use of alcohol and nicotine: smokers may not smoke in public, employees may not work under the influence and states may have blood test limits […]
  • Tampa firefighter suspended after alleged 3rd DUI arrest this past weekend. Potential penalties include jail, 10 year driver’s license suspension, and a felony conviction.
    Over the weekend, a Tampa Fire Rescue firefighter was arrested for DUI in Holiday, Pasco County.  This was allegedly his 3rd DUI arrest with priors in 2001 and 2012.  If that is true, if convicted of DUI, there would be a 10 year driver’s license suspension as part of his sentence.  Three (3) DUI convictions within 10 years results in a mandatory 10 year suspension.  He will likely face jail time if convicted or part of a plea. THE ARRESTED FIREMAN REFUSED TO PROVIDE A BREATH SAMPLE!!!  Why do  I stress the fact that he refused the breath test?  Because […]

See other news sources publishing this article. BETA | Tags: , , , , ,



Get headlines from Law Firm Newswire sent right to your inbox.

* indicates required