» A Juvenile Criminal Record Is More Serious Than Most Realize

A Juvenile Criminal Record Is More Serious Than Most Realize

Lakeland, FL (Law Firm Newswire) April 24, 2013 – Young offenders seem to think a juvenile record is no big deal. This is not the case.

“Many young offenders figure getting a juvenile record is not a big deal. It won’t affect them when they grow up and start looking for a job, or make any difference later in life should they be sentenced for something else and/or need to post bond. Wrong. A juvenile criminal record can drastically affect you in terms of sentencing or if you need to post bond,” explained Thomas Grajek, a Lakeland criminal defense attorney.

“I have talked to parents that also seemed to think that a ‘juvvie’ record is penny ante stuff and almost laughable, until they find out that having such a record may mean the difference between going to prison, or not, when their juvenile is an adult. It also affects their ability to own and/or possess a firearm,” Grajek added.

It is vitally important for parents and their children to take having a juvenile record seriously. It is not just “kid stuff,” or just kids being kids and getting up to high jinks; not in the eyes of the law. For instance, in Florida, there is a criminal statute making it illegal, and a 2nd degree felony, for a less than 24-years of age individual to possess firearms, ammunition, e-weapons or devices, or carry concealed weapons, particularly if they have committed a delinquent act —- that would be classified as a felony, if an adult had committed it.

“Put another way, if your child commits a juvenile act, that if committed by an adult, would be a felony, they cannot possess a firearm until they are older than 24,” Grajek outlined.

For those that think this is not such a big deal, keep in mind that a juvenile criminal record affects their score sheet in felony court. If the overall score is more than 44 points, the juvenile ends up in adult court, and it can get to be over 44 points, because if an offender has a juvenile record, it is factored into the score sheet. If the score sheet adds up to adult court, it also adds up to adult prison, not a juvenile facility.

“Take any juvenile crime seriously, as it has an enormous impact on your child’s future. Call me, and I can fill you in on what you need to know and how I can protect your child’s rights in court,” suggested Grajek.

For more information about Lakeland criminal defense lawyer Thomas Grajek, go to http://www.flcrimedefense.com/ or call 863-688-4606.

Thomas C. Grajek
206 Easton Drive, Suite 102
Lakeland, FL 33803
Phone: 863.688.4606


View Larger Map

  • Marijuana Possession, Use and Sale Remain Federally Illegal, Though Enforcement Is Spotty
    Each state has its own marijuana laws. If you are arrested, you need to know which laws are applicable to your case. In 2012, Washington and Colorado became the first two states to legalize, regulate and tax recreational possession of cannabis. The laws in those states permit a person 21 years of age to buy up to one ounce of the drug at authorized storefronts. These existing laws are close cousins to laws regulating the use of alcohol and nicotine: smokers may not smoke in public, employees may not work under the influence and states may have blood test limits […]
  • Tampa firefighter suspended after alleged 3rd DUI arrest this past weekend. Potential penalties include jail, 10 year driver’s license suspension, and a felony conviction.
    Over the weekend, a Tampa Fire Rescue firefighter was arrested for DUI in Holiday, Pasco County.  This was allegedly his 3rd DUI arrest with priors in 2001 and 2012.  If that is true, if convicted of DUI, there would be a 10 year driver’s license suspension as part of his sentence.  Three (3) DUI convictions within 10 years results in a mandatory 10 year suspension.  He will likely face jail time if convicted or part of a plea. THE ARRESTED FIREMAN REFUSED TO PROVIDE A BREATH SAMPLE!!!  Why do  I stress the fact that he refused the breath test?  Because […]
  • Important information about your recent DUI arrest. Always call a DUI attorney IMMEDIATELY!!!
    DUI – IMPORTANT THINGS TO KNOW!  You have 10 DAYS, from the date of your arrest, to request a Formal Review or, for 1st time DUI offenders, waive the Formal Review and obtain a hardship license for the entire administrative suspension time, The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) publishes a manual on how the Field Sobriety Exercises are to be performed and graded by the arresting officer? Many police officers do not know what the NHTSA manual requires for a proper investigation, Many DUI lawyers do NOT own a copy of the manual!  I have a copy of every […]

See other news sources publishing this article. BETA | Tags: , , , , ,



Get headlines from Law Firm Newswire sent right to your inbox.

* indicates required