Attorney Shaun R. Marks Comments on Federal Push to Require Ignition Interlocks
Flint, MI (Law Firm Newswire) January 10 , 2014 – Federal auto safety officials are pushing for ignition interlocks for anyone, even first offenders, convicted of driving under the influence.
Ignition interlocks prevent a vehicle from starting if the driver has been drinking. Although all 50 states and the District of Columbia use these devices, requirements vary. Currently only 20 states require ignition interlocks for anyone convicted of any drunk driving offense (including a first offense), but the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration is now pushing more states to follow suit.
“Currently, in Michigan, only people convicted of driving with a blood alcohol level of 0.17 — more than twice the legal limit — are required to use an interlock device,” said Shaun R. Marks, a Michigan criminal defense attorney who handles DUI and OWI cases.
That requirement would change if the Traffic Safety Administration’s recommendations are followed.
These recommendations are contained in the agency’s Model Guideline for State Ignition Interlock Programs. The agency asks state legislatures to consider passing laws that would require the devices as a condition for the reinstatement of driving privileges for anyone who has had driving privileges suspended or who has been convicted of an alcohol-impaired driving offense.
The agency also recommends that any eligibility requirements that prevent offenders from participating in ignition interlock programs be eliminated or minimized, and that options that allow offenders to avoid the program be eliminated.
The Traffic Safety Administration states that there is strong scientific evidence that the use of ignition interlock devices reduces drunk driving among both first-time and repeat offenders. Some studies have shown that the devices are about 75 percent effective in preventing drunk driving among people previously convicted of such an offense.
In recent years, there have been as many as 1.5 million drunk driving arrests each year in the United States. In 2012, there were 10,322 deaths in crashes involving drunk drivers, a 4.6 percent increase in the fatality figure from the year previous.
According to government data, about 300,000 drivers are currently required to use ignition interlock devices because of a drunk driving offense. Drivers typically pay about $75 to purchase the device and as much as $50 per month to maintain it.
The Law Offices of Shaun R. Marks, P.C.
653 South Saginaw St #216
Flint, MI 48502
Clarkston MI 48346
Phone: (248) 620-7166
- Penalties for Michigan OWI First, Second and Third Offense
Penalties for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in Michigan increase significantly if a person has a record of prior offenses. Here are the facts: First Offense Someone convicted of a first OWI offense can face up to 93 days in jail, a license suspension for up to six months (eligible for a restricted license […]
- How to Get Your Michigan Driver’s License Reinstated
If you have had your Michigan driving privileges taken away because of an impaired driving offense, you will usually have to attend an administrative hearing held by the Driver Assessment and Appeal Division in order to get your license reinstated,. The hearing process is complicated, and advance preparation is necessary. Hiring an experienced attorney to […]
- Michigan Has High Rate of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
According to data from national surveys, Michigan is home to a relatively high percentage of people who drive under the influence of alcohol — although the percentage is declining. The National Survey on Drug Use and Health compiled data from 2006 to 2009 from several federal government sources. It arrived at a percentage of people […]
- Learn the Facts About Michigan Drunk Driving Laws
There are several different charges that can be applied in Michigan drunk driving cases, which can lead to some confusion as residents try to distinguish between them. Here are the facts regarding the types of charges: Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI) is charged when a person’s ability to drive is visibly impaired due to alcohol […]
- Michigan Zero Tolerance Law Applies to Drivers Under Age 21
For drivers who have reached the legal drinking age of 21, “drunk driving” generally means driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher. However, for drivers under the age of 21, the state of Michigan has adopted a zero tolerance policy. Drivers under the legal drinking age who are found to have a […]