Attorney Shaun R. Marks Explains Michigan Driver’s License Reinstatement Hearing Process
Flint, MI (Law Firm Newswire) January 17, 2014 – A Michigan resident who has had a driver’s license suspended because of an alcohol-impaired driving offense may have an opportunity to have that license reinstated.
“A person convicted of DUI or OWI may be able to get his or her license reinstated if an attorney argues the case at an administrative hearing held by the Driver Assessment and Appeal Division of the Michigan Department of State,” said Michigan criminal defense attorney Shaun R. Marks, who handles driver’s license reinstatement cases. “However, it is important to be represented by an attorney who is well-versed in the requirements of these hearings and who has an established success rate.”
According to Marks, several requirements must be fulfilled by a person seeking to have driving privileges reinstated.
“One of the most important requirements is for a substance abuse evaluation form to be completed, which documents the individual’s lifetime history of convictions and treatment,” Marks noted. “This is completed by an evaluator who certifies that the information is accurate.”
Marks pointed out that it is also necessary to obtain documentation of an individual’s habits of drinking and drug use from those who know the person well. These are signed and notarized letters that can be submitted by family members, employers, friends, neighbors or participants in substance abuse support groups.
“Collecting these letters of reference is an important part of building your case,” Marks advised. “The letters need to include specific details and cannot merely be form letters.”
Marks added that if an individual were issued restrictions that included an ignition interlock requirement, then an ignition interlock final report must also be submitted along with the other documentation.
“Preparing for your reinstatement hearing is a big job, and it needs to be done right,” said Marks. “I spend a lot of time helping my clients gather the most effective letters of reference, ensuring that other documentation is in order and preparing witnesses to give the best possible testimony on their behalf.”
According to Marks, careful preparation often leads to successful reinstatement.
“My knowledge and experience are the reason I have a 95 percent success rate in restoring my clients’ driver’s licenses,” he said.
The Law Offices of Shaun R. Marks, P.C.
653 South Saginaw St #216
Flint, MI 48502
Clarkston MI 48346
Phone: (248) 620-7166
- Penalties for Michigan OWI First, Second and Third Offense
Penalties for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in Michigan increase significantly if a person has a record of prior offenses. Here are the facts: First Offense Someone convicted of a first OWI offense can face up to 93 days in jail, a license suspension for up to six months (eligible for a restricted license […]
- How to Get Your Michigan Driver’s License Reinstated
If you have had your Michigan driving privileges taken away because of an impaired driving offense, you will usually have to attend an administrative hearing held by the Driver Assessment and Appeal Division in order to get your license reinstated,. The hearing process is complicated, and advance preparation is necessary. Hiring an experienced attorney to […]
- Michigan Has High Rate of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
According to data from national surveys, Michigan is home to a relatively high percentage of people who drive under the influence of alcohol — although the percentage is declining. The National Survey on Drug Use and Health compiled data from 2006 to 2009 from several federal government sources. It arrived at a percentage of people […]
- Learn the Facts About Michigan Drunk Driving Laws
There are several different charges that can be applied in Michigan drunk driving cases, which can lead to some confusion as residents try to distinguish between them. Here are the facts regarding the types of charges: Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI) is charged when a person’s ability to drive is visibly impaired due to alcohol […]
- Michigan Zero Tolerance Law Applies to Drivers Under Age 21
For drivers who have reached the legal drinking age of 21, “drunk driving” generally means driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher. However, for drivers under the age of 21, the state of Michigan has adopted a zero tolerance policy. Drivers under the legal drinking age who are found to have a […]