Robbery By Sudden Snatching Is A Very Serious Crime Indicates Lakeland Criminal Defense Lawyer
Lakeland, FL (Law Firm Newswire) February 5, 2014 – In Florida, there is a special category of robbery referred to as Robbery by Sudden Snatching. It is a serious criminal offense.
“Robbery by Sudden Snatching happens when someone takes money, or other property, from a victim with the intention to deprive them of that property or money, permanently or temporarily, and during the course of events of that robbery, the alleged victim is aware or becomes aware of the robbery,” outlines Lakeland criminal defense lawyer, Thomas Grajek. The offense is outlined in Florida Criminal Statute 812.13.
To break down the precise meaning of the Robbery by Sudden Snatching offense, one needs to consider an example. If some individual was aiming to steal a purse, and at the moment the action of the purse being removed from the person was felt, they tried to hold on to their belongings and/or strike out at the alleged robber. The moment the woman became aware of the attempt to take the purse is enough to charge a robber with this type of crime. “It is enough that they know they are being robbed,” Grajek says. To prove this charge in court, the prosecutor does not need to prove the alleged robber used force beyond what was necessary to take the item in question.
What makes a significant difference in the penalty phase of a crime of this nature is whether or not a weapon or firearm was used. If the snatcher was armed, they face a 2nd degree felony charge, or Level 7 offense, which rates at 56 points, and if proven guilty, faces a mandatory 15-years in jail and a $10,000 fine. “If the robbery were committed without a weapon of any kind, it is classified as a 3rd degree felony, or level 5 offense for 28 points, with 5-years in jail and a $5,000 fine,” outlines Grajek.
Individuals who commit this type of crime also face being labelled as a habitual violent felony offender, a 3 time violent felony offender, violent career criminal or prison release re-offender. What a criminal is labelled often affects the penalties they face. In a case where a firearm, or other deadly weapon, was used, the use of such force would enhance the crime to a 2nd degree felony, particularly if the individual carried it with the intention to use it during the course of a robbery by snatching.
“Even those charged with criminal offenses, such as robbery by snatching or robbery, are entitled to a defense attorney in court. You have rights and it is my job to protect them. Do not go to court without speaking to me first,” adds Grajek. “Know your rights and what your options are.”
Thomas C. Grajek
206 Easton Drive, Suite 102
Lakeland, FL 33803
View Larger Map
- Marijuana Possession, Use and Sale Remain Federally Illegal, Though Enforcement Is Spotty
Each state has its own marijuana laws. If you are arrested, you need to know which laws are applicable to your case. In 2012, Washington and Colorado became the first two states to legalize, regulate and tax recreational possession of cannabis. The laws in those states permit a person 21 years of age to buy up to one ounce of the drug at authorized storefronts. These existing laws are close cousins to laws regulating the use of alcohol and nicotine: smokers may not smoke in public, employees may not work under the influence and states may have blood test limits […]
- Tampa firefighter suspended after alleged 3rd DUI arrest this past weekend. Potential penalties include jail, 10 year driver’s license suspension, and a felony conviction.
Over the weekend, a Tampa Fire Rescue firefighter was arrested for DUI in Holiday, Pasco County. This was allegedly his 3rd DUI arrest with priors in 2001 and 2012. If that is true, if convicted of DUI, there would be a 10 year driver’s license suspension as part of his sentence. Three (3) DUI convictions within 10 years results in a mandatory 10 year suspension. He will likely face jail time if convicted or part of a plea. THE ARRESTED FIREMAN REFUSED TO PROVIDE A BREATH SAMPLE!!! Why do I stress the fact that he refused the breath test? Because […]
- Important information about your recent DUI arrest. Always call a DUI attorney IMMEDIATELY!!!
DUI – IMPORTANT THINGS TO KNOW! You have 10 DAYS, from the date of your arrest, to request a Formal Review or, for 1st time DUI offenders, waive the Formal Review and obtain a hardship license for the entire administrative suspension time, The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) publishes a manual on how the Field Sobriety Exercises are to be performed and graded by the arresting officer? Many police officers do not know what the NHTSA manual requires for a proper investigation, Many DUI lawyers do NOT own a copy of the manual! I have a copy of every […]