Attorney Shaun R. Marks Warns of Enhanced Penalties for High Blood Alcohol Content | Law Firm Newswire

Attorney Shaun R. Marks Warns of Enhanced Penalties for High Blood Alcohol Content

Attorney, Shaun R. Marks

Attorney, Shaun R. Marks

Flint, MI (Law Firm Newswire) February 20, 2014 - In Michigan, enhanced drunk driving penalties apply for convicted drivers with a high blood alcohol content (BAC), explains attorney Shaun R. Marks.

“A drunk driving conviction with a BAC below 0.17, with no prior convictions in the past seven years, carries a maximum of 93 days in jail,” says Marks, who handles DUI cases. “However, a case with a BAC of 0.17 or higher brings a maximum of 180 days in jail.”

Other penalties are enhanced for drunk driving convictions that involve unusually high blood alcohol content. A first offense with a BAC below 0.17 can carry with it a license suspension of up to 180 days. With a BAC of 0.17 or higher, that suspension can last for up to one year. The enhanced penalties may also include mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program.

The enhanced penalties for high BAC are also known as Michigan's “super drunk” driving law.

The law is the source of one of the charges against a 19-year-old Ypsilanti woman, who police say was driving with a high blood alcohol content and bit the arm of an arresting officer. Police claimed that the young woman lost control of her car and crashed it. The driver faces a string of charges, including operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content higher than 0.17. She has also been charged with two counts of resisting arrest or assaulting a police officer, driving with a suspended license, malicious destruction of property and possession of marijuana.

Drivers with a prior conviction from the past seven years also face enhanced penalties, which are even higher than those for high blood alcohol content.

Marks, who is not involved with the Ypsilanti case, said that drivers under the age of 21 are not permitted to drive with any bodily alcohol content. A person under the age of 21 who is alleged to be driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.02 or higher may be charged under Michigan's zero tolerance law, unless the alcohol was consumed as part of a recognized religious event.

“A drunk driving conviction can compromise a person's driving privileges and create a criminal record, which can jeopardize present and future employment,” says Marks. “Anyone charged with drunk driving, whether under enhanced penalties for high blood alcohol content or not, should contact an attorney experienced in handling drunk driving cases.”

The Law Offices of Shaun R. Marks, P.C.
653 South Saginaw St #216
Flint, MI 48502
Phone:(810) 234-0700

Clarkston Office:
5840 Lorac
Clarkston MI 48346
Phone: (248) 620-7166
http://www.michigandrunkdriving.com

Twitter

Facebook

Google+

  • Reasons Why You Might Have Your DL Suspended in MI
    There are several reasons why the State of Michigan might suspend a driver’s license. If your license has been suspended, you are likely wondering what you need to do to restore it and get back on the road. Experienced criminal defense lawyer Shaun Marks has helped countless clients restore licenses that were suspended due to<a href="https://michigandrunkdriving.com/2022/12/01/reasons-why-you-might-have-your-dl-suspended-in-mi/" rel="nofollow" class="post-more-link button">continue reading...</a>
  • Michigan Out of State Drivers License Restoration
    If your Michigan driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, you may be struggling with serious life disruptions as a result. Fortunately, driver’s license restoration lawyer Shaun Marks has 28 years of experience and can help you restore your driving privileges.  If you moved to a different state while your license was invalid, you have<a href="https://michigandrunkdriving.com/2022/11/15/out-of-state-mi-drivers-license-restoration/" rel="nofollow" class="post-more-link button">continue reading...</a>
  • What are the Differences Between a First, Second, and Third OWI in MI?
    In Michigan, a conviction for operating while intoxicated (OWI) can result in a wide range of penalties, which vary based on a few different factors. Those with prior OWI convictions will have higher potential penalties. If you have been arrested on OWI charges, Michigan OWI attorney Shaun R. Marks is prepared to help you understand the penalties<a href="https://michigandrunkdriving.com/2022/08/10/difference-between-first-second-third-dui-michigan/" rel="nofollow" class="post-more-link button">continue reading...</a>
  • What Happens if I Refuse a Breathalyzer?
    Individuals who are accused of driving under the influence in Michigan may be asked to take one of two types of breathalyzer tests. While no one can force you to agree to a breathalyzer, refusing to take the test can have consequences. These consequences vary depending on whether you refused a roadside test or a<a href="https://michigandrunkdriving.com/2022/08/10/what-happens-if-i-refuse-a-breathalyzer/" rel="nofollow" class="post-more-link button">continue reading...</a>

Tags: , , , , ,



Get headlines from Law Firm Newswire sent right to your inbox.

* indicates required